Showing posts with label tagvideo. Show all posts
Showing posts with label tagvideo. Show all posts

30 November 2011

Bokra - Tomorrow

It's been a good 3 weeks since this project was released to the world. I don't think anyone even remembers it anymore.




Click here if you can't see the video

Wow, 24 leading Arab superstars on one collaboration. Akon and Shakira also collaborating on the track. Quincy Jones. Backing by some of the biggest names in the region, including names from the Qatar Govt, Dubai Media City, Sony Music, and a ton more. An initiative to raise money and funds to support talent and content from this region. What a load of crap that final product came out to be.

Now don't get me wrong. Concept wise, this whole thing was AMAZING. Just the sound of it and the potential it had to be was beautiful. I heard about it from some reps at one of the major music labels a few weeks before it came out, and figured this would be something that would blow everyone away. It would talk from the Arab world not just back to the Arab World, but to the whole World.

Sadly, so far I haven't heard anything positive about it. I caught a glimpse of it on MBC a couple of weeks ago, and thought to myself, that was IT? All that talent, all that positive energy, went into that? Again, don't get me wrong; i'm not a hater. I love to see these sort of initiatives, anything that can propel our region to another level on the global playing field. Having all those superstars on one track is an amazing feat. Quincy Jones alone is more than just a legend. The message was strong and clear, to come together to bring a better tomorrow. The production levels put into this were obviously world class. But somewhere along the line, the potential collapsed.

I don't know how to start with where things went wrong; is it with the very standard melody and beat? Sure it has different tunes from different Arabic styles & instruments every now and then, but that was hardly something on the level of a legend such as Quincy. And the lyrics? Average to say the least. It doesn't really speak to me, or to the Arab world. FINE. Let's say the music wasn't great, they should back it up with an amazing video that speaks to the people, right? Wrong. The video is just a few seconds of each artist in the recording studio, and a bunch of children running around various places in Doha. There are a few joyous moments, but those are limited in seconds.

Also, the Akon part just stands out, in a funny way. I know you wanted to add another major superstar here, but it just looks out of place. The Shakira intro I can understand, maybe he should have put in his own intro instead?

If the video was meant to speak to the people, then it would show something the average viewer would relate to; maybe peoples faces from around the region. It could show some happy, some sad, some in pain, some working for a better tomorrow. Maybe some of the scenes of the events of the past few months; not necessarily the violent and painful parts, maybe just showing people from all over, gathering together in unity. Your average person from the street can't really relate to a number of superstars dancing around in a studio. Let me not even comment on the errors in the video where the singing isn't properly synced with the audio (sure, it happens in many videos, but at that level of production, it's unacceptable).

I understand the video is trying to stay away from the politics, which is understandable. But again, Tamer Hosni? I'm sorry, but you just alienated 80 million Egyptians who were anti-Mubarak by featuring him in the track; did we all forget what happened back in Febraury? Egypt alone has 3 million (or so it feels like) musicians, was this really the best choice? Who made the decision on artists again?

And finally, the PR for the whole track, trying to hype it up. The headline message wasn't "A track pushing for a better tomorrow in the Arab World" or "A song calling for unity and togetherness". Nope. The headlines were almost always "24 MAJOR ARAB SUPERSTARS ALONG WITH QUINCY JONES AND AKON ON ONE TRACK". That's just a mirror of the whole crumpling music industry nowadays. They're trying to sell you the hype you don't want. I love Qunicy and his art, I have a ton of respect for most of the artists on the track (especially Kadhem Alsaher, dude is all class, even here he still shines as probably the best performer). But you won't get me hyped up on a track just because they're all on it. It's the digital age, the music is everywhere, the videos are everywhere, and the average person can get them any time. People aren't even watching the VMA's and EMA's even though there's a million and one celebrities on. You can't hype a track by saying so and so is on it. You have to make a song move emotions in people. You have to make good music, you have to make a great video. That's what the 'old-school' music industry doesn't understand, you can't sell hype anymore. If people want hype, they'll visit the YouTube channel, and no one ends up buying your music (explains 2 million hits on the video today and probably hardly anything sold).

I honestly have no idea what the actual message for this is. What is it meant to be; re-unite after the revolutions around the Arab world? Come together and build? Everybody calm down after what we've all been through? I'm not even sure. There's no real clear message.

The track makes me reminisce to 'Arab Dream' (الحلم العربي). That was done in the 90's; video is hardly of the greatest quality, editing is far from great, but that video and song can bring tears to your eyes. It still has the footage of performers in the studio, it still has that all-star ensemble, but the emotion comes through, it doesn't appear cocky, and it talks about our pain and struggles, the wars we've been exposed to that are still fresh in memory, and our dream to unite & move forward. Besides the studio shots, the video is powerful, and includes footage taken in the 80's and early 90's. We're in 2011; the amount of footage out there is astounding, it shouldn't be difficult to find something that speaks to people and doesn't trip over the politics. I would buy this track 10 times over just for what it is, and wouldn't even consider putting a cent towards the Bokra track.




Click here if you cannot see the video

Just another point; they're selling this track on iTunes? Whereas iTunes isn't officially available for more than half of the Arab countries (unless they have a US, European or credit card from a verified country)? Even if people did want to buy the track, you're not making it easy for them. Well done. Clap clap.

I really wanted this to make an impact, if anything, the Arab world needs something to push them forward through the multiple crises. We need to know there is hope and that everything will be fine. For all I can see, Bokra hasn't come close to achieving this, and it's a little depressing to be honest. Music was the way to speak to the masses, and with the way the industry is headed nowadays I don't know what it can achieve any more.

Go to www.TomorrowBokra.org for the track website, video, initiative etc.



(I know i'm probably going to get a wave of hate for not being supportive of the cause and so on. I actually went out and bought the track, not for the song itself but in support of the cause only. I know it was a good-willed initiative, but the whole thing was badly managed & executed, and on that grand level, is a total failure).

10 February 2011

Crusin' Manama 2011

Got a nice little camera car mount and came up with this. Nothing overly special, literally just a video of a cruise around Manama from day till night around the main hotspots. See what you recognize.



(if you're viewing this from facebook, the video won't show; go to the direct youtube link to watch it)

14 August 2010

The Last Vimto

What's Ramadhan without a glass of ice cold Vimto? Here's a short movie I produced about what would happen when we run out of Vimto; filmed the whole thing in under an hour, and edited in another hour or so. Pretty quick, and yes it's a bit silly, but did it for the hell of it.. (Click the video for the higher res version) - Enjoy:



Produced/Edited by; ammaro
Actors; Manaf (aka The RedBelt) and Basharo
Music:
1st Track: by The Recipe - 3 MC's
2nd Track: Damian Marley/Nas - As We Enter

24 July 2010

iPhone 4 Reception & BBM Broadcasts

Random vlog I did because a few people kept asking about my iPhone 4's reception problems..

9 January 2010

The year of Fail

2009 has been a year of major #fail. What with global meltdowns and a ton of other #fail going on, we try and make the best and bring you some of the funnier fails of 2009, in video form. Save a few minutes of your day and have a bit of a laugh at other people's expense, and remember, if you've had it bad, you probably don't have it as bad as this lot:

26 September 2009

Fayez Enta Fayez

Ramadan's over, and I must say, the amount of crap on TV this year was beyond me. We get a whole lot of crap every year, true, but this year just blew the Guinness record off this thing... Everything from drama shows which have no relevance to reality, supposedly funny prank shows that end up repeating the same prank every day to different people and get boring after the second viewing, to to to... It keeps going..

One very special memorable show was from our neighboring Kuwait. We love you guys, but you didn't have to throw this on us. Yup, Shejoon Al Hajiri, otherwise known as Shoojy with her own competition quiz show, unbelievably fake tan, ridiculous laugh, and overall annoying everything. Here's a very short clip so you have an idea of what i'm talking about (don't want to give you anything longer as it might result in brain damage)



And now that Ramadan is over, everything is back to normal, except that ringing in the back of my head every time I try to do anything; fayyyezzz entaaa fayyyeezzz walla faayyyeeezzz AAAARRRRGGGHHHH SHUUUTTTT UPPPPP!! Luckily for me, Thee Project, a heavy metal/rock/alternative band had the cure. They had a concert about 2 days ago at BIC, and performed a little suprise tribute to Shoojy as part of their show. Enjoy.



I was rolling on the floor in laughter! Amazing stuff, and hey, the ringing in the back of my head is gone! Lovely :D

Spread this to anyone whose having trouble sleeping or still faces Shoojy nightmares. For more info on Thee Project and the Reflux concert they performed at, check out Bahrain Talent

2 September 2009

Mr. Smooth @ City Center

We were all excited when Bahrain City Center was finally opened to the public. Yup, a big new mall, new shops, restaurants, and new outlets full of fun, woohoow!

A little under a year after the mall has opened, it's most striking feature (I think), is actually none of the above. It's one of the traffic warden dudes who works there.

If you've been to City Center on more than one occasion, you must have an idea of what i'm talking about. Always there, on the far exit of the parking lot, slowly guiding the cars out with a smooth, slick motion? Always smiling? And looks pretty damn cool while doing it?

Yup, it's 'that guy' from City Center! If you don't already know him, he's always standing there and smiling. What he's smiling about, we can't really tell, but he alwaaaays manages to make our day, no matter what's been getting on our nerves or stressing us out.

Now this is a guy whose happy; if you can't take that as an example in your life, I don't know what else to tell you. Maybe he escaped from a brutal warzone where everyone was fighting and killing each other, and this job is a perfect heaven in comparison. Or perhaps he's on some sort of Opium or Marijuana or something. I dunno. Either way, he's happy, and that's something to look up to. Check out the video, and enjoy!

18 March 2009

Speed Trip 10 (Video)

Video of Speed Trip 10 (see last post)

13 December 2008

Good Music Videos

Lol. I heard a song on the radio yesterday, a song I actually know from a few years back with a pretty funky video, which prompted me to look it up. There's not much real life in today's music videos; most have some guy standing and singing (trying to sing) in front of a bunch of expensive cars, people dancing around in a club, some girl playing a piano by the beach somewhere, or something equally cliche.

This was pretty funky though; besides the tune (which will stick in your head and repeat itself over for the rest of the day if you're not careful), whoever came up with the idea and directed this video needs some sort of award; there's a specific 2 or 3 second clip for every note/sound/tune in the video, which is shown every time that sound comes up in the song, and putting them together just works out really well.

There's no real point to the video, but it's creative and fun - enjoy:

Wiseguys - Start the Commotion

17 September 2008

Cats > Dogs (Introducing Stealth Ninja Cat)

Although it's been said that a dog is a man's best friend, you really can't mess with the cool, calm collective mentality of a cat. Sure, your dog will run up and greet you as soon as you walk through the door, but your cat, on the other hand, will just sit there and give you an ice-cold stare that says "I own this place".

Yup. Attitude and character; cat's have a lot of it. The cat in this video in particular, has more character than most. It's been fully trained in stealth martial arts, and can go ninja on you without you even realizing; take a look - the cat comes closer and closer without moving.

Or without you even REALIZING it's moving.


And before you know it, it's all over you and BOOM!

Total respect. If any of you dog lovers out there want to prove dogs are cooler, well, sure, just send me a video that beats this one.

25 June 2008

We're All The Same

Looks like a silly video at first. Some random guy dancing in one country, then in another, then in another. But keep watching...


Where the Hell is Matt? (2008) from Matthew Harding on Vimeo.

There's something deeply moving about it; look at the joy on the people's faces, their smiles, their happiness. Doesn't matter what language barriers there are, or what cultural differences exist. Nothing. They all danced, they all smiled, they all connected. Didn't matter if it was young children dancing in Africa, or grown adults dancing in the UK; everyone was the same.

In this world of people separating themselves from each other, fighting going on over race, religion, skin color, language, and so on, it just brings a tear to see the whole world connecting over such a small dance. It brings a tear to see poor African children who have nothing, filled with laughs and joy over such a small dance. It brings a tear to see stuck-up businessmen let go of their stress and pride, filled with laughs and joy over such a small dance. It brings a tear to see a video of people dancing in Israel, followed by people dancing on the East Bank. It just puts out such a strong message; stop the fighting, stop the pain, stop the differences. We're all human, we're all the same.

8 June 2008

The Matrix; not so far away.

If you haven't seen The Matrix, you need to leave my site immediately. I will not tolerate people who haven't watched it going anywhere near my site.

Yes, that means YOU. Leave now. Don't ever come back.


...


...



Okay, now that we've gotten rid of THAT lot, let's talk serious business. We are now witnessing the beginning of the end; robots that can communicate with each other, work together to produce larger machines, and capable of managing their own hardware and software. They can even fix themselves if hurt.



Sounds familiar? Oh, and how about when they ask the professor whether he thinks there's any risk that the robots could take over?

"No, I dont think there's any risk at all of that."

Ahh, denial. Beautiful denial. I bet you'll remember this phrase when the robots have got you hanging from your feet and are slowly disemboweling you. Don't you ever watch movies?!?!


Robotos that work together, create their own programs, think, and heal themselves. Add the intelligence of Google into the mix, and you've got the Terminator right there. Uh oh; beginning of the end guys, your days are numbered.

Welcome to the Matrix.

29 May 2008

Mastering the Internet

An advert for Mastering the Internet.

A video from back in 1997; ie, the internet fever had just started going around (lol)



oh god... what's wrong with this guy? amazingly confident for someone who can't act for jack...

and i love how he answered "whats the capital of Dallas" with 72 degrees. And it only took 10 minutes!

13 January 2008

Bedouin Bush

He came and left so quickly we didn't even realize it. Well, we wouldn't have if it wasn't for the ridiculous traffic today morning! Every single road seemed to be blocked to make sure 'the bush' was safe, and all of us ended up at work a good hour late or so. But hey, the visit wasn't without its benefits! Just seeing Bush wiggle that sword (part of a traditional dance) with a huge baby grin on his face totally made it up for me. Seriously, it's like giving a baby a rattler for the first time:



Lovely. My perfect birthday gift. Anyway; off he goes to continue the rest of the Middle-East tour; by now he should be in the UAE, and tommorow, Saudi.

Thanks to RedBelt for the video

4 November 2007

Small Cars, Jeremy Clarkson, and Epileptic Fits

If you're not a fan of Top Gear, then there's something wrong with you. Besides being the pure essence from which all other TV shows are made from (and hence bow down to), Top Gear is chock-full of informative, entertaining and downright funny car reviews. Even if you're not really into the whole 'vehicle thing' (ie, you drive a bicycle to work), here's an episode that might definately catch your attention; the World's smallest car (good when you can't find a parking spot in downtown Manama). Watch the whole thing; it's around 7 minutes long, but it sure as hell is worth it.



Gotta love Jeremy Clarkson.

On another note, due to the overwhelming number of complaints of seizures, temporary blindness, epilepsy among other symptoms caused by my previous white text on black background, I have decided to change the colors to something more eye-friendly (although you have to admit, it definately is NOT AS COOL as the black background). I hope you wimps are happy now.

Bluh.

1 October 2007

80's & 90's

If you haven't already seen it, there's a 80's & 90's section at the top of the page. I've taken and put together a bunch of old memories, whether random thoughts, cartoons and TV shows, toys, etc.

Just decided to post something about it; take a look, it might bring back a few memories. I'm updating it all the time, so if there are any photos or videos you have and want to share, please send them over! Here's one of the videos just to bring a few memories back, see if you can remember it; this is from a Japanese game show that was called الحصن:




Check out the section at the top of the page for more memories :)

27 August 2007

747 Landing

Ever driven on a road right next to an airport and seen a plane land? I've done it a few times since I live near an airport, and figured it was pretty scary at first, since it feels like the plane is just a few meters above you. Figures that was nothing; take a look at this - it's a 747 landing at St. Maartens, a carribean island. It's the smallest airport in the world that can actually accomodate a 747. Now this is kinda freaky:



Talk about close call! This isn't a one-off thing; this is how the planes land in this airport every day!

8 August 2007

Funny Commercial

I just found this commerical; an old one I watched ages ago, but still brings some good laughs. Enjoy :)

24 July 2007

Basketball Extreme

I personally love basketball. Just saw this video which is some sort of extreme basketball show, like basketball on steroids with a good shot of ecstacy to boot. There's a sort of spring board which the players use to jump in the air, flip around, pass the ball to each other and score, but hey, trying to explain it really doesn't do it justice. Take a look, it is just unbelievably and ridiculously fun to watch:



That's just amazing. How do you even start practicing something like this?

22 July 2007

Best YouTube video EVER

Now, i've ALWAYS been a fan of Michael Jackson's Thriller video. I would go as far to say as it is probably one of the BEST music videos out there, ever!

And now this; a detention and rehabilitation center in the Philippines gets their inmates to re-act the Thriller video! Looks amazing, and a really good laugh too! Watch the girl!



Good job!